Rain, Rain, Go Away!

It’s kind of annoying to discover that the sunlight you thought you woke up to wasn’t sunlight at all- it was a light left on outside your bedroom door. Instead of sunlight, you discover it is actually a very rainy day. When you look at the forecast and it is threatening to make it rain every day for over a week, you know you have to do something to combat that gloom!

I just do better with sunshine. I hardly ever love rainy days, except when we are truly dry and need the rain. Even then I prefer if it gets busy and rains and then the sun comes out again. Even if I plan to work inside all day, I like sunshine to make me happy and motivate me. But I don’t get to choose the weather, so I have to make do the best I can!

Today’s method of coping looks something like this:

100_7420

Listening to an instrumental romance CD from back when we were dating. Happy memories!

100_7423

Lighting candles always makes me just a little happier, and my girls love it, too. They are such girls!

100_7425

Finishing the last 2 chapters in the 3rd Boxcar Children book I am reading to Kierra. I’d read to Emily if she’d let me, but she doesn’t listen for more than 5 words, even in books with pictures. My goal is to read the first 19 Boxcar books to Kierra, but it’s taking awhile. Maybe she’ll be able to read them soon herself! I loved these books when I was young. Reading them as an adult, they seem a little lame to me sometimes, but when you are Kierra’s age, you don’t really know or care

100_7428

Enjoying the company of my oldest gap-toothed daughter. She lost her first one last fall, but I still find it hard to believe she is old enough for that! She wants so badly to be older, “like 12,” as she says. We are going to start her in 1st grade next Monday. We have the books and she desperately needs something to do to keep her busy and motivated. I noticed a huge improvement in her attitude and personality last fall when she started kindergarten, and I have noticed lately that with a less structured summer, she’s not as happy as she was. She is super excited about starting school again, and this way we can take off on the days we need to and still get through the year in plenty of time.

100_7433

One more rainy day project today is cutting out at least 2 of these 4 pieces of fabric for dresses for a friend’s daughter. I told her to tell her daughter to sketch how she wanted the dresses made. She loved the idea and had the sketches made in no time, and the bonus is that I know how she wants them done!

Last evening I got out my sewing machine for the first time this month and did a few altering/mending projects. I forgot how much fun it is to sew when I am not under any pressure. ย Knocking out several little sewing projects makes me feel so accomplished!

What do YOU do on a rainy day?

6 thoughts on “Rain, Rain, Go Away!

  1. Hi! I like your new blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your subtitle caught my eye, ‘living as an introvert in a family of extroverts’ –that’s me! My husband is totally an extrovert, and so are our daughters, most of the time.
    My girls love the Boxcar children books, I think I read the first 5 out loud to them, then kind of forgot about it….now the two oldest are old enough they read them on their own, and even to their younger sisters sometimes. My goal is to read a chapter or two to them every day, but it’s hard to stick to a routine like that in the summertime. The book we’ve been (stuck) in for the last few months is ‘Trumpet of the Swan’ by EB White. It’s an interesting read, but not quite so much that it demands we MUST read it every day…
    I think it was your other post you mentioned cleaning your house in June. Again, I smiled to myself because that had also been my goal. I didn’t take into consideration everything else that was going to be happening in June. So far, we’ve spent one day on spring cleaning, we managed to get about half of my kitchen cupboards cleaned out. I decided that’s better than nothing….hopefully sometime we’ll get the rest done, and maybe a few other areas, as well. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Happy summer to you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I have a hard time reading every day to my girls. It’s very hit and miss, but I do try!
      I still haven’t gotten much deep cleaning done ๐Ÿ™‚ I have pretty much decided to wait until fall. Unless I get really motivated!

  2. Love your new blog and it’s crisp, clean look. I’m in awe of how you uploaded those pics of the Bible Story books (in an earlier post). I’m pretty clueless. I often say we know enough about computers to be dangerous. ๐Ÿ™‚ Deep cleaning- ick! But I love to do a lot of it before school starts in August. We’ll see. No promises this year. Your daughters are just beautiful!

    • Thanks, Wanda! Oh, and those pictures of the BIble Story books- I just stole a picture from Google images so I didn’t have to get our books out and photograph them!

Leave a Reply

